Atomic Energy of Canada Limited


Appointments to AECL’s Board of Directors and Management

On July 1, 2019 the Government of Canada made appointments to AECL’s Board of Directors and Management.

James Burpee has been appointed as Chairperson of AECL’s Board of Directors for a term of five years. Jim has been serving as a director on AECL’s board since June 2017, and brings almost four decades of experience as a senior strategist and executive in the electricity industry, having worked in a variety of senior management roles for Ontario Hydro and Ontario Power Generation.

Richard Sexton has been re-appointed as President and CEO of AECL for up to one year following the expiry of his current term in February 2020. Richard has served as AECL’s President and CEO since February 2018; he previously served as interim President and CEO and Acting Chief Transition Officer of AECL for almost two years. Richard has over 30 years of experience in decommissioning and waste management gained through leadership roles on some of the largest and most complex decommissioning projects in the world.

Dr. Kamilia Sofia has been appointed as a director of AECL’s Board of Directors for a term of three years. Kamilia has been a strategic leader for 30 years, with technical and management experience locally and internationally. Kamilia has held CEO level positions internationally in the last ten years with global organizations in multiple industries: high technology, aerospace, nuclear, and oil & gas, including CEO of Methanex Egypt, Executive Vice President of Rolls Royce Nuclear, CEO Services at Dubai Aerospace Enterprise, and Vice President of Strategy at CAE Inc.

Jim, Richard and Kamilia bring significant experience and expertise to the leadership and oversight of AECL.

AECL and Australia’s ANSTO sign a cooperation agreement

AECL and Australia’s ANSTO sign a cooperation agreement

AECL and the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organization (ANSTO) have signed a memorandum of understanding with a goal of establishing a strategic collaboration in nuclear science and technology, radiological waste management, decommissioning, and environmental remediation.

The 5-year collaboration agreement was signed in Sydney, Australia  on May 2 2019 by AECL President Richard Sexton and ANSTO Chief Executive Officer Adi Paterson.

The agreement will allow AECL and ANSTO to collaborate in areas of mutual interest including managing and overseeing nuclear research activities, isotope research and production, radioactive waste management, decommissioning, and environmental remediation.

ANSTO is Australia’s national nuclear science and technology organization. They operate much of Australia’s landmark infrastructure including one of the world’s most modern nuclear research reactors, OPAL. Their nuclear science focuses on health, environment and the nuclear fuel cycle. For more information on ANSTO, visit their website.

Notice of Public Meeting

On May 14 2019, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL) will hold a public meeting. The forum will provide an opportunity to learn about the achievements of the past year and plans for the future.

Claude Lajeunesse, Chair of the AECL Board of Directors, and Richard Sexton, President and CEO, will present at this meeting and will be available to answer questions from the public.

The meeting will take place in Deep River, Ontario. For those who cannot attend in person, it will also be webcasted live on AECL’s website.

Date and time:

May 14, 2019

7pm – 8:30pm eastern daylight savings time


167 Brockhouse Way, Deep River, Ontario
Voyageur Room (please note that the venue is not wheelchair accessible)

Members of the public who will be joining the meeting via webcasting are invited to provide questions in advance of the meeting via email at This mailbox will also be monitored for any questions received during the meeting. Best efforts will be made to answer questions received via email during the meeting within the allocated time; unanswered questions will be responded to in writing directly to requestors following the meeting.

For more information, please contact: